One Day in Manchester

DSCF5175.JPG

One of the cool things about my job is that every now and again I get to go on a ‘business trip’ somewhere new. This weekend, it was Manchester, and although I went there for work, primarily, I could not leave without at least a quick peek round the city.

DSCF5152.JPG

Because I was on a tight schedule, I started my tour at 8am. Which meant the city was still asleep and hungover from the night before – perfect sightseeing conditions. Waking up in a new city has to be one of the best feelings in the world.

I cannot say I covered everything in Manchester, but what I did see gave me a good idea of the feel of the city, and I really liked it. I liked the colours of Chinatown, the muffed noise of the city trams and the architectural variety of modern and old buildings. Metallic white and plastic, beige bricks, auburn walls, stained-glass windows. Little English pubs squeezed between fashion outlets and banks. Crocus plants blooming by the church.

20140222_081911.jpg

DSCF5150.JPG

DSCF5159.JPG

Many sites were under construction so the city gives an ‘unfinished’ impression. Old factory chimneys and big blocky buildings remind you that it’s not supposed to be a charming English town or a European state of the art capital – Manchester is industrial at heart. The occasional bits of impractical decorations – marble cherubs’ heads over a window, a fancy tower, beds of flowers – are enough to soften the city’s character though.

DSCF5171.JPG

I barely spent 24 hours in Manchester, but it was worth the four-hour train journey. I hope to be back very soon.

DSCF5168.JPG

DSCF5176.JPG

DSCF5174.JPG

Leave a Reply

